Skip to content

The Tall Poppy Syndrome & The Seven Deadly Sins

Doug Garland
Doug Garland
1 min read

Table of Contents

Dark emotions are frequently found in the tall poppy syndrome (TPS). The seven deadly sins are a well-known grouping of dark emotions. I have identified 6 of these 7 deadly sins consistently in TPS.  Three are often found in the cutter: envy, anger and laziness; and three are identified in the cuttee: pride, greed and lust. Gluttony is not noted in TPS.

The deadly sins are an aide-mémoire in identifying the dark emotions involved in TPS. By identifying the emotion, one understands the what-why occurrence of TPS and who the perpetrators are. This opens a window into one's own self-awareness promoting self-improvement and self-control. The treatment of TPS is dictated by identifying the specific dark emotion and applying its antidotal virtue: envy is neutralized by kindness and pride is rendered harmless by humility.

videodeadly sinstps

Doug Garland Twitter

Douglas Garland, M.D. practiced orthopedic surgery for 37 years in Southern California. Doug was also a Clinical Professor of Orthopedics at the University of Southern California.


Related Posts

Members Public

A Little Less Fear Podcast (Interview)

A Little Less Fear Podcast (Interview)